1001 SEO Media
All posts
By 1001 SEO MediaGEOprompt trackingAI visibilityOtterlyPeec AIProfoundScrunch

AI Search Visibility Monitoring for Brands: Prompts in Otterly, Peec, Profound, and Scrunch

What happens when a brand's 60-prompt set moves into Otterly, Peec, Profound, or Scrunch: limits, engines, refresh, and regions, plus the Promptwatch setup we evaluate first.

Brands that come to us mid-evaluation usually have a shortlist of Otterly, Peec, Profound, and Scrunch, and a spreadsheet comparing sticker prices. Sticker prices are the least useful column. What decides whether a monitoring tool works is how it handles your prompts: how many it holds, on which engines, how often they are checked, and whether you can split them by market or buyer type.

So we run a simple exercise with every brand. We take their real prompt set, typically around 60 buyer prompts across two markets, and ask what happens to it in each tool. This post walks through that exercise. Vendor facts come from the tool catalog we maintain for our review work; where it is silent, we say so rather than fill the gap.

The prompt set we use for the exercise

Sixty prompts is a realistic size for a mid-market brand: roughly 20 category questions, 15 comparison questions, 15 problem questions, and 10 that name a competitor directly. Two markets, say the US and the UK, because many brands sell in more than one country and their answers differ. Three engines at minimum: ChatGPT, Perplexity, and Google AI Overviews.

That last requirement trips more tools than the prompt count does.

Promptwatch: the setup we evaluate first

We start with Promptwatch because it is the platform we run client programs on, and because it treats a prompt as more than a line of text. Each prompt carries a search volume and a difficulty score, so we can see which of the 60 deserve their slot. Query fan-outs show the sub-searches an engine runs behind a prompt. Topics and tags group them, personas let us run the same question as different buyer types, and tracking works at country, state, or city level. Prompt trends then show how each prompt's visibility moved and what changed between checks.

For the 60-prompt set: Essential ($95 a month, 7-day trial) holds 50 prompts and 6,000 responses in one project, so it is just short. Professional at $245 holds 150 prompts and 18,000 responses across 2 projects, which fits both markets with room to grow. Monitoring runs on the real interfaces of the engines, including ChatGPT, Perplexity, and Google AI Overviews, rather than API-only sampling.

Scrunch AI

Scrunch's Starter plan is $250 a month on annual billing ($300 monthly) and includes 350 custom prompts plus 1,000 industry prompts, with 3 seats. On raw prompt count, the 60-prompt set fits easily.

The catch is in how prompts are consumed. Credits are spent per engine, so one prompt checked in three engines uses three credits. Our 60 prompts across three engines and two markets add up much faster than the headline 350 suggests. Data refreshes weekly, not daily. The catalog also records real setup effort: G2 reviewers describe personas and prompts as taking significant configuration. And published tier details conflict in places, so we confirm which engines the Starter plan covers before relying on it for Perplexity or AI Overviews.

What Scrunch adds that the others do not is its Agent Experience Platform, which serves AI-optimized page versions to crawlers. That is a reason to buy it for the serving layer, not for prompt monitoring.

Profound

Profound's public tiers are where the 60-prompt set runs into walls. Starter at $99 a month (annual) is ChatGPT only, with 50 prompts and one seat, so it fails on both count and engines. Growth at $399 a month (annual) holds 100 prompts across three engines with 3 seats and a 7-day trial. The catalog does not list which three engines Growth covers, so check that Perplexity and AI Overviews are both in.

Profound's Prompt Volumes dataset, which estimates real query demand per prompt, is genuinely useful for choosing prompts. The full version sits on Enterprise, alongside up to ten engines, API access, and SSO, with contracts starting around $40k a year. Billing is annual only on the public tiers, and the catalog notes setup realistically takes one to three months with a dedicated owner. Profound is sold today as marketing agents for content, demand, and PR more than as a prompt monitor, so the prompt tooling is one part of a larger product.

Otterly.AI

Otterly's ladder is easy to read. Lite at $29 a month holds 15 prompts, which does not fit the set. Standard at $189 a month holds 100 prompts with API access and Looker Studio export, which does. Premium at $489 holds 400. Extra prompts cost $99 a month per 100.

Engines are the next question. The base price covers four: ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity, and Copilot. Gemini, Claude, and AI Mode are add-ons at $9 to $149 a month depending on tier. Our three-engine requirement fits the base. Coverage spans 65+ countries, so two markets are fine.

The limit that matters for prompt monitoring is freshness: monitoring data can be up to seven days stale, and new prompts take time to populate. The catalog does not document prompt volumes, difficulty, fan-outs, personas, or city-level tracking for Otterly.

Peec AI

Peec's Starter is $95 a month for 50 prompts, 3 models, and 1 project, with unlimited seats and daily data. Our 60 prompts do not fit, and the catalog does not publish the prompt limit of the next brand tier, so that is a sales conversation. Agency plans start at $245 a month.

Models are the second constraint. Every tier includes three; each extra model costs $35 to $165 a month. Claude and DeepSeek are Enterprise only and Grok is not covered. With two markets, the one-project limit on Starter also matters. There is no historical backfill, so a baseline only starts the day you subscribe. As with Otterly, the catalog does not document prompt volumes, difficulty, fan-outs, personas, or city-level tracking.

The exercise, side by side

ToolPlan that fits 60 prompts, two marketsEngines on that planRefreshPrompt intelligence on the listing
PromptwatchProfessional, $245/moChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews and moreNot stated here; real UI monitoringVolumes, difficulty, fan-outs, personas, country/state/city, prompt trends
Scrunch AIStarter, $250/mo annualUp to nine at top tier; confirm StarterWeeklySetup-heavy personas and prompts
ProfoundGrowth, $399/mo annualThree (unlisted)Not statedPrompt Volumes (full set on Enterprise)
Otterly.AIStandard, $189/moFour base enginesUp to 7 days staleNot documented
Peec AINot published above StarterThree included, add-ons extraDailyNot documented

What we tell brands at the end of the exercise

If your prompts are a fixed list you only need counted, Otterly or Peec will count them. If you want to know which prompts deserve the budget, how answers change by market and buyer type, and what changed between checks, that is prompt intelligence, and of the five tools here Promptwatch is the one whose listing covers it. That is why we evaluate it first and why our client programs run on Professional or the agency plans.

We will not pick a tool for a brand from the pricing page alone. We load the real prompts, run a handful by hand, and compare.